Perform euler case: subsonic flow around a sphere, with pyFR

Dear all,

My name is Antonio Garcia-Uceda, and I’m a researcher on Flux Reconstruction methods. I’m using pyFR as part of my project.

I’m trying to perform the euler case: subsonic flow around a sphere. You can find attached the mesh in .gmsh format, as well as a first attempt of .ini files.

Could you please help me out with the following? Thanks.

• When running pyFR, an error pops-up asking for the following: [soln-bcs-sup_in_fa], [soln-bcs-sub_in_char], [soln-bcs-slip_wall]. The mesh attached only has two boundary faces: Slip-Wall, Subsonic Characteristic. What is the other BCs required? How pyFR detects the correct type? Perhaps I have to input the correct “physical name” in the .gmsh file? If so, which is this one? I can’t find anything related in the user guide section of pyFR website.

• The bcs of type: [soln-bcs-sub_in_char] is not in the user guide. Could it be that I’m running a too old version of the code?

• When runninf the .ini file attached, an error pops-up with the following: “ValueError: Invalid characters in expression”. What is wrong with it?

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Best regards,
Antonio

sphere_lev2o1_o1.ini (969 Bytes)

Sphere_lev2_o1.msh (384 KB)

Hi Antonio,

I’ve looked over both your PyFR configuration file and your mesh. With regards to your boundary conditions you have specified a supersonic inflow farfield boundary condition, a subsonic inflow characteristic boundary condition, and a slip wall boundary condition for your mesh. Note you have specified the type (with underscores instead of hyphens) instead of the actual name of the boundary. With PyFR you need to provide the boundary names as given in the mesh file. Then the boundary condition type is specified separately. As an example for a no-slip adiabatic surface using the name you have given your surface, “Slip_Wall”, an appropriate boundary condition setting might be:

[soln-bcs-Slip_Wall]